Learn English with English, baby!

Join for FREE!

Social_nav_masthead_logged_in

English Forums

Use our English forums to learn English. The message boards are great for English questions and English answers. The more you contribute, the more all members can practice English!

:  

English Talk

How to understand what americans talking about?

user2009

Morocco

Hi evrybody,

I'm a new resident in the usa, and i found a great difficult with american accent, i don't understand what americans spoken talking about.

My english language level is too modest, I can read text and understand 70% of words and sentences, My problem is american accent, my question is how can i understand american english ? and also speak like an  american ?

sorry for my bad english, I'm still in the begenning of the road.

Thanks so much

03:59 PM Mar 25 2009 |

The iTEP® test

• Schedule an iTEP® test and take the official English Practice Test.

Take Now >

Paulgye

Paulgye

Ecuador

Practice makes perfect!!!

dont be shy to speak your mind 

04:01 PM Mar 25 2009 |

zeinabou

zeinabou

Egypt

You have to put [you know]in every sentence;}

08:32 PM Mar 25 2009 |

Vla-di-mir

Vla-di-mir

Russian Federation

I not especially well know language of Americans, but under my information to speak than in England easier if to be exact Americans say all letters in speech.

09:48 PM Mar 25 2009 |

Mapleleaf Man

Canada

zeinabou is correct. If you take all of the 'you know's out of their speech, Americans only know about forty or fifty words. If you take out the names of guns and swear words, that leaves you about 5 words that you have to recognize. I think 'army, killing, foreigner and hate' make up the rest. :)

01:40 AM Mar 26 2009 |

tiffintime

tiffintime

Sri Lanka