Join for FREE!

Social_nav_masthead_logged_in
Tips to Learn English Fast

Tips to Learn English Fast

Date: Apr 16 2011

Topic: Speaking

Author: andylu2

Lesson

One of my main goals as an online English teacher is to help people understand how to learn English fast.

I majored in psychology in university and one of the most interesting courses was about learning.  The funny, or perhaps sad, thing about most English programs is that they don't really teach people how to learn at all.

Learning anything is long term.  It is not about understanding something today and forgetting it tomorrow or the next week.  This is a waste of time.  I could tell you my phone number and you might be able to remember it for 20 minutes, but it's not "learning".  This is key.  Many people make the mistake of trying to study too much at once and their brains simply can't handle all of the new material.  They end up "overloading" their brains and waste most of the time. 

It's much better to study and remember 3 things a day than it is to pretend you are learning 50 new things a day but remembering almost nothing after a week.  This is the trap that most students fall into.

Consistency is key to studying just like it is for exercise.  You should exercise your body almost everyday but not too much or too little.  You can't handle it.  In the same way, it is much better to do 20 minutes of quality study per day than it is to do 5 hours of study once per week.  It might sound like it doesn't make sense but we need to make sure we understand how our brains work.

Then next tip I want to share is how important it is to choose what to study.  If you play around with a dictionary you are wasting your time.  Most words are rarely used by native speakers.  It's not about how much you know.  It's about what you know and how good you are at actually using this.